For every aspiring medical student in India, the acronym “NEET” holds paramount significance. It stands for the National Eligibility cum Entrance Test, an examination that can make dreams come true and carve the path to a career in medicine. Among the frequently pondered questions in the minds of these hopeful candidates is, “How many exams are there in NEET?”

How Many Exams are there in NEET

The following blog aims to demystify the query – how many NEET exams are there, providing a comprehensive understanding of the NEET landscape.

Exploring the NEET Spectrum

To respond to the query, “How many NEET exams are there?” – there is one primary examination: NEET-UG (Undergraduate). NEET-UG is the nucleus of the NEET framework, a single entrance test that encompasses the aspirations of countless students across the country.

NEET-UG: The Defining Factor

NEET-UG, as the pivotal element of the NEET framework, is the gateway examination for those who aspire to enter medical and dental colleges offering MBBS and BDS courses. Administered by the National Testing Agency (NTA), this examination is a rite of passage for students who have completed their 10+2 education and are embarking on the journey to becoming medical professionals.

This examination evaluates candidates’ knowledge in three fundamental subjects: Physics, Chemistry, and Biology (Botany and Zoology). It employs multiple-choice questions (MCQs) to assess not only their factual understanding but also their ability to apply concepts in real-world scenarios. Besides knowing how many exams are there in NEET, the candidates must also prepare for the exam based on the duration of the NEET-UG exam which typically spans 3 hours, during which candidates must address questions from all three subjects.

The Unified Approach: AIIMS and JIPMER Integration

In the past, the medical landscape included separate entrance exams for premier institutions like the All-India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS) and Jawaharlal Institute of Postgraduate Medical Education and Research (JIPMER). However, a significant paradigm shift took place in 2020, unifying the admissions process.

The integration of AIIMS and JIPMER admissions into the NEET-UG framework meant that aspiring medical students no longer needed to prepare for multiple exams. This strategic decision after understanding how many exams are there in NEET, aids in streamlined process, allowing a single NEET-UG exam to open doors to all medical institutions in India, including AIIMS and JIPMER. This integration has created a more equitable platform for students, eliminating the disparities that could arise from diverse exam patterns and difficulty levels.

Significance of NEET-UG

Merit-Centric Selection: NEET-UG operates on a merit-based principle, where candidates are chosen based on their grasp of subjects and their ability to apply knowledge effectively. These approaches after considering how many exams are there in NEET ensures that deserving individuals gain entry to medical and dental courses, promoting fairness and quality education.

Standardization and Equality: The amalgamation of AIIMS and JIPMER into NEET-UG fosters standardized evaluation across institutions. This erases the potential discrepancies that might stem from varying exam structures based on the question how many exams are there in NEET.

Reduced Burden: The integration has relieved the stress on aspiring doctors. They can now focus their energy on preparing for a single exam after getting to know how many NEET exams are there besides eliminating the need for separate strategies and preparations.


To conclude, the NEET ecosystem primarily revolves around the NEET-UG examination, which serves as a pivotal point for aspirants in their quest for medical excellence. The unification of AIIMS and JIPMER admissions has amplified the importance of NEET-UG, emphasizing its role as the ultimate pathway to numerous esteemed medical institutions.

So, to address the query, “How many exams are there in NEET?” – There is one core exam, the NEET-UG. The journey to a successful medical career starts with this single test, a test that holds the key to unlocking countless opportunities in the medical realm.