Eligibility Criteria for NEET

Eligibility Criteria for NEET
Table of Contents

A candidate who is applying for NEET 2022 examination, should get a clear understanding regarding the eligibility criteria for NEET after reading the application form thoroughly as the criteria varies depending on the state or all India basis. It is a primary one-tier based exam conducted once a year usually during the month of May

NEET (National Eligibility cum Entrance Test) conducted by NTA (National Testing Agency) made it a mandatory exam for the medical and dental aspirants to pursue their undergraduate courses like the MBBS and BDS in government and private colleges throughout the country. 

Eligibility Criteria for NEET

The eligibility for NEET depends on the factors mentioned below.

Age criteria – The medical aspirant should have a minimum age limit of 17 years on or before 31st December 2022 during the year of admission or concerning students’ categories. There is no age limit for candidates who wish to apply for NEET till date. Hence, students who are aged more than 25 are provisionally eligible for NEET with an age relaxation of 5 years as per the concern on their category.

Aggregate marks – The average marks for OBC/ST/SC must be 40% (Physically handicapped (PH) – 40%), and General category (Physically handicapped (PH) – 45%) respectively.

Note: Maths score acquired in the board examination is not considered for the NEET.

Core subjects considered – Students who have taken a total of 3 subjects(physics, chemistry,biology) in the class 12 board exams are only eligible for NEET.

Attempts – There is no maximum attempt for the NEET 2022 exam where the candidate can appear for the exam several times without limits.

Year of passing – The candidates who haven’t appeared for their class 12 board exams and candidates who have obtained good scores in the class 12 board exams are also eligible for NEET. Likewise, students who have appeared for class 12 in the previous year and have taken the exam for improvement this year are supposed to mention a better score.

Eligibility Criteria for NEET

Eligibility Criteria for NEET (on the Basis of State Quota)

Candidates should be cautious that around 85% of BDS/MBBS seats are reserved for state quota NEET counselling. The remaining 15% of seats are allotted to all India levels or other states counselling. The requirements to fulfil this criterion includes:

  • The applicant should be a native resident of the respective state.
  • The applicant should have proper residency proof which is issued by the Government of India.
  • The applicant is yet to complete or should have completed their schooling especially in Class 12 from the respective state.

Eligibility for NEET (on the Basis of Citizenship)

On the basis of citizenship, the Indian citizens, (PIOs) Persons of Indian Origin, foreign nationals, (NRI’s) Non-resident Indians, and (OCIs) Overseas Citizens of India all meet the eligibility criteria for NEET 2022. Aspirants who want to study medicine in India and aspirants who want to study medicine outside India but practise medicine in India should mandatorily take the NEET exam respectively.

Eligibility Criteria for NEET (for NRI’s or Foreign Nationals)

As per the eligibility for NEET 2022, it is absolutely necessary for NRI’s or foreign students who have completed their education outside India to apply for the NEET exam to fulfil the eligibility of NEET 2022. 

They must have Class 12 equivalent qualification with subjects including physics, chemistry, biology, and English in the country where they have studied. Also, the candidates must have passed both theory and practical tests for each of the mentioned subjects in the equivalent qualifying exam.

Eligibility Criteria for NEET (Qualifying Examination Codes)

Candidates must refer to the qualifying examination codes and their descriptions to check their eligibility for NEET 2022 because it shall be reviewed under various stages starting from registration till NEET counselling.

Code 01 – A candidate who is appearing for Class 12 or PUC or Intermediate Examination in 2022.

Code 02 – A candidate from State Board/CBSE/ICSE who has passed class 12 with given conditions, like some partial droppers or droppers.

Code 03 – A candidate who has a pass percentage of PUC Exam. 

Code 04 – A candidate doing Pre-medical/ Pre-professional from either a Medical College or a Science College.

Code 05 – A candidate who has passed Class 12 or equivalent examination and is now pursuing a degree course of 3 years (with English, physics, chemistry, biology/biotechnology) from a recognized university.

Code 06 – A candidate who has passed a BSc course with not less than two subjects (physics, chemistry, biology/biotechnology) and also passed Class 12 with PCB & English.

Code 07 – Any other equivalent examination with the last two years having PCB, like foreign / international boards.

NEET 2022 Qualification Rules – Least Rate Required Classification Wise

CategoriesQualifying Marks
General/GEN-EWS 50% marks in the qualifying exam
OBC/SC/ST Category 40% marks in the qualifying exam
Persons With Disabilities 45% marks in the qualifying exam

Eligibility Criteria For NEET 2022: Attempts Limit

  • Additionally in 2018, as far as possible standards was tested by up-and-comers in the Supreme Court.
  • In a new declaration made by NMC, the upper age limit necessity for NEET UG has been rejected formally.
  • Hence, for NEET 2022 there is no restriction on the quantity of endeavors and furthermore no restriction on upper age models.


Here the I-Shrap Academy gives you the clarified information about the NEET. The Medical Council of India will recommend the prospectus for the NEET test which will cover Physics, Chemistry and Biology/Bio-innovation subjects. The test comprising of 180 inquiries is led for 3 hours and is necessarily just in web-based mode. Questions are of various decision and with negative checking.

Read Also

Best NEET Coaching in Coimbatore

How to prepare for NEET exam after 12th

TANCET – MAT coaching in Coimbatore